top of page

Abusive Relationships

TW: abusive relationship, rape, disability


If you'd prefer to listen to this blog, click here.

February to May 2017 I was in an abusive relationship. I have been relentlessly disabled with severe complex rape PTSD from this interaction. I would like to share my experience, resulting disability, and some helpful advice for university:

February to May 2017 I was in a relationship

He was 16, and I was 17

I had my first sexual intercourse with him

Let me rephrase, my first time was rape

But that was not everything.

“Why does your face look like that?”

“Don’t dress like that, everyone will see you’re ugly”

“Who are you meeting? I will come with you to make sure”

“Smoke some weed with me, or you won’t get outside today”

“Look, you aren’t good enough”

He was a climber in national competitions

But he also went to the gym everyday

And he was learning calisthenics

I was punched and kicked frequently

Powerless, helpless, vulnerable

He would pick me back up only to beat me down again.

May 2017, he raped me, I got away from him

First thing I did was tell my ‘best friend’

Who went and told everyone I was lying

Rumours went around that I was a desperate liar

I got death threats if I told the police

Too scared to do anything, I isolated myself for two years.

Starting university was really intimidating

My first term was awful because I got raped again

Didn’t notice my first friends had bad intentions

I became suspicious of everyone, and lost my boundaries

Couldn’t be by myself because of the intrusive thoughts.

Contacting It Happens Here was the best thing I did

Painting, drawing, creatively writing my hurt helps me too

I now get medical help for my severe complex rape PTSD

Warwick FIT Society took me in as one of their own

Things are looking a lot brighter than before.

I still need to re-establish my key values and boundaries

I keep putting myself in danger, so I could be raped yet again

But I am extremely grateful there is now so much help

I am so much more hopeful than ever before.


---- Annelise Hill, Guest Blogger

It Happens Here Warwick Logo

Our blog aims to help minorities feel less alone, by making sure we discuss advice, events and personal experiences to connect with our readers.

If you're affected by anything we write, please contact us via our email or social medias.

Subscribe

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page