top of page

Coping at University with Eating Disorders

TW: Eating disorders, disabilities, insomnia.


The independence you get when you come to university is so great because you can do what you want. However, at the same time it can really highlight issues that you need to work on. On top of this, the workload can get quite overwhelming so I think it’s important to share some advice on quick ways to help anyone that finds cooking and eating independently more difficult.


Speak up.


The first day of coming to university can be stressful, but it is also so great to make new friends who could help you. In first year, I really wish I spoke up about my disorders a lot more – it would have helped me so much. One of my flatmates was always so lovely when I kept saying I was too tired to cook (I have insomnia) and he always offered any food that he had. I think having friends to support you in any way shouldn’t be frowned upon as though you were too lazy to cook. First year taught me that there are other students that will help you out and talk to you and make sure you are doing okay, and I wish I used this more.


Write a shopping list.


I find it helpful to write a shopping list for the week ahead on my phone, so I know what to buy when I go to the shops, and it does not waste too much time in my day. Meal plans and preparation helps you know what to buy for the week ahead. If this seems too difficult, another idea would be to go shopping with a flatmate, or friend, so at least you will buy food and they might even give you the confidence to eat more food. When I was first coming out of my eating disorders, it helped me to buy healthier versions of foods. For example, buying Coke Zero instead of normal Coke would put my mind to rest about the fat content that Coke has.


Meal prep.


Because I struggle with cooking, a therapist for my insomnia and fatigue suggested I put time aside two times per week to cook meals, which I would recommend. It is great that if I am not feeling in the mood to cook, at least I will have some food set aside in the fridge that I can snack on for a couple of days. I found this a good idea to get out of my eating disorders too because making a bigger batch of food to eat would mean whenever I felt a little hungry there was always something to eat. I understand making loads of food might seem intimidating with an eating disorder, but I found that telling myself I could eat as little or as much as I wanted was helpful. I was in control.


Going out for meals.


A final bit of advice is for when friends want to meet with you, particularly for drinks and a meal together. Similarly to meal prep and writing a shopping list- preparation is key!! If it is a restaurant then just have a little look at the menu beforehand. I remember when I was calorie counting and really struggled to eat this would really help so I knew what I was doing, rather than completely panic in front of my friends. If you are worried there is nothing you want to eat on the menu, possibly suggesting a different restaurant or suggesting you'd rather meet for drinks is another great idea!



---- Annie Hill, Guest Blogger

It Happens Here Warwick Logo

Our blog aims to help minorities feel less alone, by making sure we discuss advice, events and personal experiences to connect with our readers.

If you're affected by anything we write, please contact us via our email or social medias.

Subscribe

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page